Edo’s Senator Matthew Uroghide, Others Defect To APC

A TWO-TIME senator representing Edo South Matthew Uroghide has switched allegiance to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He formally defected to the APC from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at an event in Benin City on Saturday.

His return to the APC is coming after what he described as a 13-year-three-month sojourn in the PDP.

Senator Uroghide who described himself as a foundation member of the APC said he is glad to return to the fold of mature politicians, a party, in whose leaders he trusts and has confidence.

The former lawmaker assured the party that he has returned to help build the party and enthrone its candidates in the 2024 Edo governorship election.

He was not the only politician who defected from the PDP to the APC on the day. Others include a former clerk of the House of Representatives and candidate for the Owan Federal Constituency in the 2023 election Patrick Giwa.

Eight local government chairmen including Frank Ilaboya
of Owan West Local Government Area also joined the APC.

Top APC leaders including Senator Adams Oshiomhole, and the state executive were on the ground to receive the fresh entrants into the party.

Previous articlePolice Inspector ‘Kills Self’ In Maiduguri
Next articleArmed Men Besiege Oyo State Govt Secretariat


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here